Awards season comes to an end


With today’s announcement of both the A.L. and N.L. MVPs, another awards season has come to a close. Not surprisingly, the Astros didn’t have anyone in the running for a major award.

Houston fans do have the opportunity to vote for a couple of Astros for the less prestigious GIBBY Awards. Brandon Barnes (hitting performance) and Jason Castro (breakout hitter) are GIBBY finalists.

As for the more noteworthy awards that are voted on by the BBWAA, there weren’t really any big surprises. Here’s a list of all the winners.

• A.L. Manager of the Year — Terry Francona, Cleveland Indians

• N.L. Manager of the Year — Clint Hurdle, Pittsburgh Pirates

• A.L. Rookie of the Year — Wil Myers, Tampa Bay Rays

• N.L. Rookie of the Year — Jose Fernandez, Miami Marlins

• A.L. Cy Young — Max Scherzer, Detroit Tigers

• N.L. Cy Young — Clayton Kershaw, Los Angeles Dodgers

• A.L. Most Valuable Player — Miguel Cabrera, Detroit Tigers

• N.L. Most Valuable Player — Andrew McCutchen, Pittsburgh Pirates