Buster Posey (US-PRESSWIRE)

Baseball's MVPs announced today

The final and most prestigious of baseball’s offseason awards will be handed out today. Both the A.L. and N.L. are set to announce the winners of their Most Valuable Player Awards. This year’s American League MVP has been the subject of much debate. Support seems to be evenly split between Triple Crown winner Miguel Cabrera and Rookie of the Year Mike Trout.

Even though Cabrera won the Triple Crown, my vote goes to Trout. Not only did the Angels centerfielder lead the A.L. in runs scored and stolen bases, he did it in only 139 games. Trout also finished second in the league in batting, and OPS.

Leading the league in homers, RBIs, and batting average doesn’t necessarily lead to an MVP Award. In fact, Ted Williams won two Triple Crowns in the 1940’s and finished second in the MVP voting both times.

Here’s my A.L. ballot.

Miguel Cabrera (Rick Osentoski-USA TODAY Sports)


# player team
1 Mike Trout ANA
2 Miguel Cabrera DET
3 Josh Hamilton TX
4 Edwin Encarnacion TOR
5 Robinson Cano NY
6 Justin Verlander DET
7 Prince Fielder DET
8 Fernando Rodney TB
9 David Price TB
10 Joe Mauer MIN

In the National League I went with batting champ Buster Posey. The Giants catcher drove in more than 103 runs in the regular season and ended the year hoisting a championship trophy. Ryan Braun comes in second after beating a positive drug test and having his 50-game suspension overturned. Andrew McCutchen and Yadier Molina were also outstanding candidates.

Here’s a look at my N.L. ballot.


# player team
1 Buster Posey SF
2 Ryan Braun MIL
3 Andrew McCutchen PGH
4 Yadier Molina STL
5 Chase Headley SD
6 David Wright NY
7 R.A. Dickey NY
8 Gio Gonzalez WAS
9 Craig Kimbrel ATL
10 Matt Cain SF

Tags: Baseball Buster Posey Miguel Cabrera Mike Trout MVP Award

comments powered by Disqus